Breakfast · college students · health · Liberty University · nutrition

“Grits Bowl”-a Great Breakfast Idea!

Robin Quay, MS, RDN, registered dietitian nutritionist for Sodexo

A few weeks ago, I was down in North Carolina, and I went to this great place for breakfast called Foster’s Market. I ordered a grits bowl, which was grits, topped with a fried egg, black beans, salsa and cheese. I also got a side of bacon. It looked like this:

photo-2

And it was heavenly.

It made me wonder if I could make it at home.

I had some fancy grits that I got in a Christmas basket, 

photo 1

and the package had a recipe on the back for cheesy grits, so that’s where I started. You can use regular grits-you don’t need anything special. Besides the grits recipe, you will also need 3 eggs, 3 Tbsp of black beans, 3 Tbsp of salsa and 3 Tbsp of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. The recipe makes 3 Grits Bowls.

CHEESY GRITS

1 ¼ cup milk

1 ¼ cup water

½ cup uncooked grits 

¼ tsp salt

2 Tbsp. butter

½ cup shredded sharp cheddar

¼ cup shredded parmesan

pinch of white pepper

pinch of cayenne pepper

pinch of ground nutmeg

Bring water and milk to a boil. (Watch carefully. My first attempt burned and boiled over and I had to start again) Slowly stir in grits.

Reduce heat and continue cooking , stirring frequently, for about 20 minutes or until the grits are thick and tender.

Stir in salt, butter, cheeses, and seasonings.

Grits should be creamy. Add more water and milk while cooling if necessary to retain creamy quality.

Makes 3 servings.

photo 3

Once the grits were cooked, I fried the eggs the way I like them, over easy. You can make yours however you like them! Then I assembled the grits bowls. Into each of 3 bowls, I placed 1/3 of the cheesy grits. I topped the grits with a fried egg, a Tbsp. of black beans, a Tbsp. of salsa, and a Tbsp. of shredded cheddar cheese. You could add other toppings as well-avocado or guacamole might be good! I had some leftover roasted red and green peppers, and I threw them on top.

photo 2

Delicious!

Then I started wondering, could this be put together at the The Food Court at Reber-Thomas? I think so! There’s breakfast all day at the Rise & Shine Station, so on the days grits are offered, you could get a bowl of grits, and top it with some scrambled egg. Then you could head over to Sparky’s Cantina and top it with cheese, black beans and salsa…and even guacamole! Yum!

Leave a Reply

