Breakfast · college students · health · Liberty University · nutrition · Uncategorized · vegetables · Wellness

Squash Muffins!

Robin Quay, MS, RDN, Registered Dietitian Nutritionist for Sodexo

It seems like yellow squash is in abundance this summer. It’s a healthy vegetable providing a good source of vitamin C and many B vitamins. It also has anti-oxidant, anti-inflammatory and anti-cancer properties. It’s anti-oxidant properties are especially important for eye health, as they help protect against macular degeneration and cataracts. Yellow squash has also been shown to help keep blood sugar levels and insulin metabolism in balance.

I found myself with a plethora of yellow squash, and I wasn’t sure what to do with it. Yellow squash and zucchini are in the same vegetable family, so I wondered if they could be used interchangeably in recipes. You’ve heard of zucchini bread and zucchini muffins. I wondered if yellow squash could be used in zucchini’s place! I decided to try it, and squash muffins were born!

I used the whole wheat zucchini bread recipe from 100daysofrealfood.com, and swapped out grated yellow squash for zucchini. I recommend their blog. It’s one of my favorites, and there is tons of good advice and recipes there.

ZUCCHINI BREAD (NOW KNOWN AS SQUASH MUFFINS!)

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 cups whole-wheat flour (I used Kroger brand white whole-wheat flour)
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 ½ teaspoons baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 3 eggs
  • ¾ cup oil (I used coconut oil)
  • ½ cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3 cups grated zucchini (I used 3 cups of grated yellow squash)
  • 1 cup chopped nuts (optional – I used walnuts)

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees F for small loaf pans or 325 degrees F for large loaf pan or muffins.
  2. Blend the dry ingredients.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix the eggs, oil, honey, and vanilla.
  4. Make a well (or hole) in the center and pour in the liquid ingredients. Stir just until mixed – do not overmix.
  5. Fold in the grated zucchini and chopped nuts if using.
  6. Pour batter into greased loaf pan(s) or muffin tins and bake until a toothpick comes clean in the top/center of the loaf or muffin.
- If using smaller pans bake for 30 – 40 minutes. 
- For one larger loaf pan bake for 50 – 60 minutes.
- For muffins bake for 15 – 20 minutes.

It made 22 muffins. These muffins freeze well!

Copyright 2012 @100 days of real food. all rights reserved.

Here’s the result! They were a big hit, and fairly healthy. I think I will add raisins to my next batch, for a little extra sweetness!

photo

Leave a Reply

