college students · fruits · health · Liberty University · nutrition · Superfoods · Uncategorized · well-being · Wellness

Baked Apple “Fries”

By Robin Quay,MS, RD, Sodexo Dietitian
I’m always looking for new, fun and fresh ways to serve healthy foods. I ran across this idea as part of The Daniel Plan (danielplan.com), and I thought I’d try them as a unique, interesting and healthy side dish.
Apples are a good source of Vitamin C, heart healthy and high in fiber. They are a great choice for one of the many fruit and veggie servings needed each day for good health.
Here’s how I made the apple fries:
Ingredients:
2 Granny Smith apples (or other firm, tart apples)
Drizzle of olive oil
Sprinkling of sea salt
Sprinkling of cinnamon
Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking pan with aluminum foil.
Core, peel and slice apples into sticks. Drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with sea salt and cinnamon and toss to coat. (I think using your hands to do this works best). Place apple sticks in a single layer on the prepared baking pan. Bake for 20 minutes.
Makes 4 servings. 105 calories, 12 grams carbohydrate, 7 grams fat, 0.5 grams protein, 4 mg Vitamin C, 1.5 mg fiber
Here’s how they turned out:
apple fries
They were a little mushy, but they tasted great! Next time I make them, I’m going to bump the temperature up to 450 degrees and use the convection feature, to see if I can get them more firm and crispy on the outside.
Have fun experimenting with this recipe, and let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

